newsletter link
mondo arc

LA announce Student Lighting Designer winners

10 Aug 2011 16.00 BST

(UK) - The Lighting Association has named James Melia as the Student Lighting Designer of the year.

The LA awards were created to help students gain valuable knowledge about the lighting industry, whilst using their creative skills to develop new lighting products. According to Chief Executive Peter Hunt, they are one of the highlights of the LA calendar: “Industry can see which way the next generation of designers are planning to take us and students get to mix with potential employers,” he says. “There is no substitute for this creative interaction, which year on year brings us ever improving designs and technical competence.”

10 finalists were chosen and working prototypes were presented to a panel of industry judges.

Student Lighting Designer: James Melia (Nottingham Trent University) – Design: Kink

Second: Gregg Parsell (Nottingham Trent University) – Design: Origin

Third: Sam Aylott (Nottingham Trent University) – Design: MEC

Best Flatwork: Chris Webb
(Coventry University) – Design: Measures of Light

Commended: Mark McDonnell (Ravensbourne College of Design and Communication) – Design: AirLight

Other finalists:
Edward Holt (Sheffield Hallam University) – Design: Wilite
Jason Taylor (Ravensbourne College of Design and Communication) – Design: Black Orchid Light
Joe White (Nottingham Trent University) – Design: Alice

Kanako Anahara (Nottingham Trent University) – Design: This is not Jelly

Nicholas Lerwill (Northumbria University) – Design: ARC

Peter Hunt - Lighting Association
David Ellis - Osram Ltd
Nicola McGuirk - Dar Lighting Ltd
Simon Terry – Anglepoise
Steve Marsh - Citizen
Vic Harasimow – Toshiba
Nic Mallinson - LIF
Fiona Elliott - Elliott Associates
Ivan Hayward - Ivan Hayward


Related Articles


Follow us on…

Follow Mondo Arc Magazine on Twitter Follow Mondo Arc Magazine on Facebook Follow Mondo Arc Magazine on Linked In

mondo arc india

darc awards DWLF IALD PLDC LRO